Papworth win the Annual Astronomy Quiz

Papworth astronomy quiz team

Wednesday 19th May 2010

Papworth were once again victorious in the Annual Astronomy Quiz, beating teams from Bedford, Sawtry and Nene Valley to retain the Admiral Smyth Trophy.

Papworth were represented by Ed Zanders, Janet Vialls and Gordon Carter; Bedford by Dave Eagle, Darren Jehan and Gordon Waller; Sawtry by Rob, Andrew and Malcolm; and Nene Valley by Matt Lane, Steve Williams and Ian Barrie.

The questions, set by Keith Tritton, proved to be a bit more difficult than last year’s. A slight deviation from the usual rules allowed questions to be passed on to the fastest “hand in the air” following an incorrect answer. This might have favoured the Papworth team slightly – with Ed Zanders picking up a few points with the fourth answer to a difficult question – but didn’t affect the final outcome.

Since this was Papworth’s third win in a row – and because we thought it would be nice for Keith to have a rest from writing the questions! – Bedford agreed to host next year’s quiz.

Thanks to all who took part, or came to support their teams!

No Responses to “Papworth win the Annual Astronomy Quiz”

By submitting a comment here you grant Papworth Astronomy Club a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate comments will be removed at admin's discretion.